Help me understand how insurance works?
[-]
  •
08-24-2014, 06:24 AM,
Help me understand how insurance works?
So somehow, I'm an idiot, and I lost my ring. It was set with CZ stones, but it was quite a heavy custom platinum setting. It was appraised at $2500 and it was insured with Perfect Circle.

How does it work if I want to replace it? According to the website, the jeweler must invoice me for what it would cost to replace, but I can purchase any piece I want with that money.

So can I call Schubach's or something similar and ask them to invoice me for a $2500 platinum setting, and then design a new ring?

I'd like to take this opportunity to change the ring from a three-stone to a solitaire as I am working in a conservative environment and I'd actually like a smaller, simpler ring for everyday wear. Is that something I can do?

I'm an expert on health insurance, but I gotta say that ring insurance has me stumped.

Quote this message in a reply
[-]
  •
08-24-2014, 09:41 AM,
RE: Help me understand how insurance works?
Pretty much, yes. But since they have your appraisal on record, once they start the claim they will give you replacement value for the old ring based on current market prices of metal etc. schubbies might need to provide an estimate of cost to remake it. Then I believe they will pay schubbies on your behalf. So that you can't just take the money and run so to speak... They want to protect themselves from fraud and false claims etc.

Than if you want changes you can work that out with Schubachs, and any additional money needed would be from you. Wink sorry you lost your ring, but thank goodness it was insured!!

Joseph Schubach Jewelers
please email jenniferc@schubach.com for quotes and inquiries
Visit this user's website
[-]
  •
08-24-2014, 10:39 AM,