Is the AG a moissanite?
[-] The following 3 users Like mmascall's post:
  • Ginger, MrsK, Queen of Sparkle
09-16-2016, 06:44 PM,
Exclamation  Is the AG a moissanite?
A question has been posted on another forum regarding the AG. There seems to be some confusion as to what the AG actually is - is it a moissanite or SiC? 

I'm no expert but, according to Moissaniteco.com, the AG IS a moissanite. In fact, it is the same material as the F1, namely 4H moissanite. SiC is called moissanite and also called carborundum. SiC has 250 crystal polytypes of which 6H and 4H are but two. 6H is the polytype that FB and classic moissanite are made from and 4H is the polytype for the AG and F1.

A poster on this other forum was, I think, insulted that an AG would be compared to lowly moissanite and used the two polytypes of carbon (diamond and graphite) as a comparison. Diamond and graphite are scientifically recognized and accepted names for different crystal structures of carbon. Unfortunately, the various SiC polytypes presently don't have names to differentiate them - they are all moissanite and all carborundum, that's it. 

If you need to insure a ring with an AG in it, as per Wink, I would definitely make sure that they add Amora Gem moissanite and reference the report included with the stone. 

TL;DR - Yes, Virginia, the AG is a 4H moissanite with a very pretty cut.  Shy

Quote this message in a reply
[-] The following 2 users Like MrsK's post:
  • missy_lko, mmascall
09-16-2016, 07:25 PM,
RE: Is the AG a moissanite?
I clicked to answer, yes to the question. However, I see you've provided some great information here. Thank you for sharing! Big Grin

One day, I'll be a crazy old lady weighed down by all my baubles and it will be glorious.
[-] The following 4 users Like jenncent's post:
  • lovedogs, mmascall, MrsK, Slick
09-16-2016, 07:56 PM,