What would you do?
[-]
  •
07-28-2013, 07:55 AM,
What would you do?
I have a bezel set diamond solitare pendant listed on the bistro. I cannot find the paperwork on the diamond, though I am still trying (tearing apart the house). So here's the the question, what are my options if I can't find the paperwork? I want to be able to give good accurate information to any potential buyers. However, I'm no expert. Short of saying it sure is prudy, white and sparkly I can't offer much else. The last thing I want is to misrepresent. I'd rather not spend a lot of money for an appraisal, but I beginning to feel as if this might be my only option. It is a beautiful diamond; I just dont wear it and never will. I have a memorial necklace honoring my daughter that I never take off. The necklace was a gift from an old boyfriend. I was there when he bought it so I know for sure that it is a real diamond. Now, I'm getting off track. Anyway, I would like to use the funds for another project so I'm getting rid of the stuff I don't wear.
Cut to the chase.... Does anyone have any suggestions? Is an appraisal my only option short of selling for way less than its worth. If I had to take a huge loss, it wouldn't make sense to sell at all. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks ladies!

Quote this message in a reply
[-]
  •
07-28-2013, 08:26 AM,
RE: What would you do?
IMO appraisals are overrated (and oftentimes over inflated) when it comes to selling. They're a good thing to have if a piece is stolen so that you can get replacement value, that is if you have insurance Big Grin It may make they buyer *feel* like they're getting a better deal because it has an appraisal. Appraisals aren't cheap, though. I wouldn't do it.

Is this the pendant in question?

http://www.diamondbistro.com/category/19...ndant.html

We all usually sell stuff for way less than we want to Cry such is the life of a sparklie addict Insane

[-]
  •
07-28-2013, 08:42 AM,