need a moissy expert
[-]
  •
01-24-2014, 10:42 AM,
need a moissy expert
OMG..I am so disappointed.

Ordered a moissy forever brilliant, which arrived today. it is a princess cut.

Put the stone between my fingers, and it looks a definite yellow! Is that because it is picking up color from my skin. On a white background the color is much improved. Just worried I have got a dude here! Will it look white in a setting...or the same yellow I am seeing now?

thanks in advance Merlin

p.s. this is the first moissanite i have bought

Quote this message in a reply
[-] The following 1 user Likes LaLa's post:
  • sparkletiger
01-24-2014, 11:14 AM,
RE: need a moissy expert
I am not a moissy expert by any means, as I only have one, but I kind of felt the same when I received my FB OEC (as you can see in the thread I made about it here ). I was actually convinced I had received an unenhanced stone until I looked at it under the microscope at work and saw the FB engraving. I carried it around with me for a long time and looked at it in every kind of setting and light I could find, and that just showed me that people aren't kidding when they say moissy is a moody stone. In some lights it looks like an H and in other lights it looks like an L or an M. I've grown to love that about my stone, and now that it's set in platinum it looks even whiter. I actually prefer when it shows a little more body color now because it makes it look so much like an antique diamond.